South Sudan, a country that’s no stranger to war, is finally an independent country. This landlocked country is situated in central Africa with its neighbouring countries being The Central African Republic, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan and Uganda. The capital is Juba and the local currency is the Sudanese pound (SSP).

Fun Fact! This is the world’s youngest country!

If you’d like to know more interesting facts about this African country, click here.

So lets break this country up into PARTS.


The main Ethnic groups are the Dinka, Nuerm Shilluk, Azande, Bari, Kakwa and Kutu groups.

English is the country’s official language with Arabic, Dinka, Nuer, Bari, Zande and Shilluk also spoken within the country.


Explore Juba. Juba in South Sudan is  the world’s youngest Capital, this city has a lot of monuments and new buildings to check out.

Contrary to popular belief this country has a vast amount of wildlife and greenery. Why not visit Nimule National park; a safari home to hippos, elephants and more!

Hike up Mountains. Imatong Mountains and the country’s largest mountain Kinyeti are forest mountains with an amazing view. Located by the Ugandan boarder, these mountains are well worth the climb.

Rituals and Culture

The country’s population follow Islam, Christianity and animist. Religion

Some of the country’s staple foods are millet vegetables and cassava. Some specialties include ful (fava beans) and Kajaik (fish stew).


The country is very unstable at the moment so please check more travel advice check out; FCO: Travel Advice 

Outside of the UK: Please check your government’s travel advice carefully

%d bloggers like this: